Track Meet

Hi, it’s hmsleilani and today I am going to talk about a track meet.

A track meet is basically when your school and other schools come to compete for sports activities. We are going tomorrow and will be spending almost the whole entire school day there. I signed up for the standing long jump, cornhole, the sack race, and the 60-yard dash. I am also on the girls’ relay team and will be guaranteed a third place. Well if we do really good then we might even win first or second place. It is a really far drive from our school. I think there will be a total of 4 schools but I am not too sure.

There are also other activities that you can choose to do. Like ladder ball, football throw, softball throw, and hurdles. I like to sign up for the easy ones because it is more likely of a chance that I might get an award. The relay teams are chosen by how fast you can run. The girls would run against girls to see who is the fastest and put them in the relay team. There is also a co-ed team too. It is basically two girls and two boys running with from the same school. There are ribbons for the winners from seventh or sixth place. I never really get first place because I am not that good at sports.

 

The sack race is the final race. It is mixed with boys and girls going against each other. Last year, my sister and my friend got first and second place. It is also really hot there too. We can bring snacks if we would like to and I normally like to bring some because I can get bored waiting for my turn. Running on the relay team can be very stressful and nerve-racking. There are so many people watching you and counting on you to win. I was on the girls’ relay team last year and we came in third place. That isn’t so bad but there was only three girls relay team. So that kind of means that we came in the last place.

Well, that’s all for today,

hmsleilani

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *